Other stories

The 5 Love Languages: Explained

You might be wondering how your partner receives love and if it’s different from you. In a relationship, it’s important that both partners are aware of what makes the other feel loved, cared for, and connected. Author, Gary Chapman, has made this a little bit easier for couples in his book The 5 Love Languages. Chapman posits that most people fall into 1 or 2 categories when it comes to how people receive love, and we’ll explain them all. So, take a break from looking into BEE International, and let’s look at the 5 love languages in detail.

Love Language 1: Words of Affirmation

People whose love language is words of affirmation feel love and appreciation when others verbally praise them or communicate their affection through words. That’s why those who have words of affirmation as their main love language often encourage others to express their love and feelings for them via verbal communication in the form of phrases like, “I love you,” “I understand you,” and “I appreciate all that you do.”

Love Language 2: Acts of Service

Those who have acts of service as their love language appreciate and value when their significant other does whatever it takes to help make their lives easier or go out of their way to do something kind. If acts of service had a popular quotation tethered to it, it would easily be “actions speak louder than words.” Even offering to pick them up a coffee, run an errand for them, or take over one of their daily tasks can make these people feel loved and appreciated.

Love Language 3: Gifts

There are some people who have gifts as their love language. This love language is one of the easiest to understand and provide for someone. However, don’t assume that just buying your partner gifts all the time will make them feel appreciated. On the contrary, people who have gifts as their love language value the thought behind the gift the most. When they can tell their partner deliberately and thoughtfully selected a special gift for them, that’s how they receive their love. It’s all about the intention, effort, and care that’s behind the gift-giving that these people appreciate.

Love Language 4: Quality Time

Quality time is a love language where people feel the most loved and cherished when they’re spending time with their special someone. What constitutes quality time depends on the person, but typically it’s time spent between the two partners in which they are both giving their undivided attention to one another. This means phones down, no distractions, and truly connecting and bonding with one another without anything else getting in the way.

Love Language 5: Physical Touch

Similar to gifts, physical touch is a pretty straightforward love language. People whose love language is physical touch receive love through embracing their partner. They feel a sense of peace, calm, and connection when they’re cuddled up with their partner. Handholding, cuddling, and kissing are what these people enjoy the very most. They value the safety and intimacy that coincide when their partner reaches out for them, and it reaffirms to them that they are loved and appreciated.

If you have any questions, please ask below!