There are several types of traffic tickets; probably the most popular and dreaded is the speeding ticket. A speeding ticket is can be an unpredictable type of ticket. That means you may have been going 15 miles over the speed limit and drove right by a police officer, you saw him/her, they saw you. So, what gives? Last winter you were going 8 miles over the speed limit in a mild snow store and were pulled over and ticketed. No, the officer was not having a bad day or trying to "fill their quota." In most states, there are three types of speed limits-that go beyond the drive the speed limit or get a ticket.
3 Types of Speed Limits
- Absolute – If the speed limit sign reads 55, you had better not be going 56 or you are going to get a ticket.
- Presumed – This means if the speed limit is 45 mph and you're driving 55 mph and you're driving safely then you're still considered to be driving within the speed limit. The state of California is a perfect example of a presumed speed limit if the weather is good and the traffic is moving along or you're one of few cars on the road and you're cruising along and pass an officer chances are you're not going to get a ticket. On the other hand, if it the weather is bad or it's rush hour traffic and you're weaving in and out of lanes (like that could ever happen, when you're moving 15 mph) you are going to get a speeding ticket.
- Basic – Ironically, with the basic speed limit law you can get a speeding ticket for driving over the speed limit or for driving under the speed limit (if the speed limit is 35 mph and you're going 31 mph) you could get a ticket. This law is based on the safety of the travel conditions.
The thing most people tend to forget or simply ignore is that if you break the law you are going to get a ticket. Police officers are on the highways to protect people. Therefore, your theory that the police office was just being a jerk because you sped by and interrupted his/her lunch is as ridiculous as it sounds.
Top 5 States You're Most Likely to get a Speeding Ticket In
According to the National Motorist Association this five states are the strictest when it comes to speeding.
2.) Georgia and Nevada (Tie)
Of course, the ramifications of a speeding ticket can be costly, not just for your wallet; speeding tickets add points to your driver's license, which in return can increase your auto insurance. There is one redeeming feature-traffic school. In some states if you voluntarily enroll in traffic school, your insurance company may see this as the responsible thing and not raise your insurance rates. The state's county court may allow you to complete a traffic school course to avoid adding points to your driving record and sometimes dismiss the fine.
Distracted Driving Ticket-Talking & Texting
The second most common type of traffic ticket is the distracted driving ticket. You know the one, where someone is talking or texting. Reading and driving, grooming, and taking to passengers are fall under distracted driving, but talking and texting are by far the worst offenses.
According to the Centers for Disease and Prevention (CDC), more than 1.6 million accidents were caused by talking or texting while driving last year.
Aside from the distracted driving ticket, you can also be ticketed for negligence and reckless driving.
Top 5 States You're Most Likely to Get a Distracted Driving Ticket In for Talking & Texting
3.) New Jersey
4.) New York
Distracted driving carries heavy fines and in some states court mandated traffic school is required.
Speeding and distracted driving are the top two traffic tickets issued every single day in the United States. Of course, somewhere in the US hundreds if not thousands of drivers are being ticketed for one of the following types of traffic tickets:
- Running a stop sign or red light
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended or revoked drivers license
- Illegal U-turns
- Driving without insurance
- Driving without a seat belt
- Driving without properly restraining a child in a safety seat
The list goes on and on. Traffic laws are put in place to keep everyone on the road safe.
Traffic schools, or defensive driving courses are available to you if you've received a moving traffic violation or want to earn a discount on your car insurance. If you've received a traffic ticket, your state's county traffic court may allow you to complete traffic school to dismiss the citation and avoid having points added to your driving record. If you decide to enroll in traffic school voluntarily, your car insurance provider may award you with a safe driver discount.