Knowing the statute of limitations for sexual abuse against a minor is especially important. While the state of Virginia does allow for a decent amount of time for survivors to come forward, that timeframe won’t last forever. Once the statute of limitations expires, it can be next to impossible to file a sexual abuse lawsuit unless there are certain exceptions to your case.
We know that this is a difficult time, and we want to see you get the justice you deserve. Our goal is to educate you on how the statute of limitations for sexual abuse against a minor works in Virginia, and when the best time to come forward is.
How Long Is the Statute of Limitations for Sexual Abuse Against a Minor in Virginia?
According to Virginia Senate Bill 483, sexual abuse against a minor has a statute of limitations of 20 years from the age of maturity to file a sexual abuse lawsuit. In other words, survivors of sexual abuse in Virginia have 20 years to take legal action from the day they turn 18 years of age.
20 years gives survivors ample time to collect evidence and build a strong case to pursue justice. Keep in mind that many survivors take a long time to file after suffering sexual abuse as a minor. Don’t feel like it’s not worth pursuing legal action simply because it has been several years after your abuse.
Can I Still File a Claim After the Statute of Limitations Expires?
Even though the law is on your side and provides you a good amount of time to file a sexual abuse lawsuit, there are times when survivors of sexual abuse in Virginia pass the statute of limitations. In fact, many people don’t realize until it’s too late the abuse that had happened to them. In these instances, some exceptions can be made.
One exception is for incapacitation. For example, if you were physically or mentally incapacitated and unable to file a claim, the statute of limitations effectively pauses itself during that time. Once you are no longer incapacitated, the statute of limitations will resume and continue to accrue time.
Another exception to the statute of limitations is when a psychologist or physician confirms your sexual abuse and helps you understand that you’re a survivor. It’s very common that survivors of childhood sexual abuse don’t even realize that they were abused in that way. For these instances, the law may allow the statute of limitations to be extended.
When Is the Best Time to Come Forward?
The standard rule for all forms of sexual abuse is to come forward as soon as possible. However, the reality of the situation is far more complicated. Sexual abuse, especially as a minor, can be immensely traumatic and painful to remember or live through again through testimony, trial, police interviews, etc.
It’s completely understandable as a sexual abuse survivor to take time to report what has happened to you and take legal action. This is precisely why the law grants you 20 years from your 18th birthday to get started on your claim.
What If I Can’t Afford to Take Legal Action?
One of the biggest barriers to filing a lawsuit for sexual abuse is the cost of litigation. Sexual abuse litigation can cost large amounts of money, not just in legal fees but also in various other fees such as
- Psychological counseling
- Doctor’s visits
- Living expenses
- Rent or mortgage payments
Fighting a lawsuit can take a lot of time and resources that can divide your attention away from important financial obligations. During this tumultuous, emotional, and stressful time, the last thing you need is additional economic hardship.
Money shouldn’t get in the way of getting justice for your sexual abuse. You should be able to get the closure you deserve and hold those responsible accountable for your pain, suffering, and damages. There are numerous options available to help you get the funds you need to get by and make going through a lawsuit easier.
Litigation Funding Can Help
Litigation funding is one of the best ways you can get the financial resources you need to fight against the defense. More often than not, sexual abuse lawsuits can last a long time. While you and your lawyer fight for your lawsuit, the funds you receive from litigation funding can help make this difficult time easier to bear financially.
One of the most important benefits that sexual abuse survivors can get from litigation funding is that the money you get is non-recourse. In other words, there’s no pressure to repay whatever money you receive. This may sound like it’s too good to be true, but that’s how non-recourse litigation funding works.
The primary goal of litigation funding is to get you the money you need fast so that you can continue to stay in the fight for your sexual abuse lawsuit in Virginia, without having to worry about the risks associated with borrowing money. If you don’t win your lawsuit, you don’t have to pay anything back at all.
Tribeca Lawsuit Loans Is Here to Assist You
Tribeca Lawsuit Loans are here to assist you in getting qualified for litigation funding today. We don’t ever want financial hardship to be the reason why you can’t get justice and compensation. Sexual abuse survivors in Virginia can get in touch with one of our financial experts to get started with the application process.
Applying is very simple:
- Provide the information required on our application.
- Submit the application for review.
- Upon approval, get the money you need.
Our team works fast to get you your litigation funding money as quickly as possible. You can expect money to get to you in as little as 24 to 48 hours.
Get Justice and Closure Today
The statute of limitations for sexual abuse against a minor in Virginia is flexible and forgiving. The law gives plenty of time for survivors of sexual abuse in Virginia to file a claim. When you’re ready to come forward and seek justice, Tribeca is here to support you financially every step of the way during your sexual abuse lawsuit.